General context

A New Deal

Until the 1990s, firms and organizations acting for the public good, such as NGOs, social business or community-based groups, only related to each other through either sponsoring or conflict.

For the last 15 years, however, these relationships have been evolving. Change is brought about by an ever increasing number of factors: mounting social inequalities, the foretold end of fossil fuels supply, the awareness of climate change and its impacts on the most vulnerable populations … Those disruptions have contributed to the setting of new rules for the development of corporate economic activities, such as sustainable development approaches and the inclusion of stakeholders’ views in corporate decision-making and operational processes.

On the other hand, the number of civil society organizations has grown exponentially, and those societal concerns are often at the very heart of their action. Through the light they shed on business practices, they gained an ability to leverage business like never before. Through their knowledge of territories and people, through the innovative approaches that they propose, they have become an essential part of the solution to various sustainable development issues.

A time for action

Nowadays, the relationship that firms build with communities and territories, as well as the above-mentioned social and environmental issues have become top of the list on the decision-making agendas.

In that context, relationships to NGOs have taken a turn. In order to fit better in the society at large (be it in the South or in the North), to reinforce their acceptability and license-to-operate, to innovate and manage their risks better, companies have to integrate the relationship to NGOs in their decision-making processes. Neglecting that particular stakeholder would, directly or indirectly, affect their reputation with potential financial consequences.

This of course requires from companies an ability to adapt, to challenge their way to operate and to reconsider their relationship to society in general and to civil society representatives in particular. ,.
In a nutshell, businesses need to shift from corporate philanthropy to strategic value creating relations with civil society. Civil society organizations themselves, have every interest to consider the opportunities the private sector offer in terms of expertise and leverage for social change.

Contexte général

Une nouvelle donne

Jusque dans les années 1990, les relations entre les entreprises et les organisations représentant des intérêts de la société, ONG, associations, entrepreneurs sociaux ou groupes informels, étaient réduites à deux schémas dominants : la confrontation ou le mécénat.

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, ces relations ont évolué. Des facteurs de changement toujours plus nombreux interviennent : fin programmée des énergies fossiles, avancées des études scientifiques et de la prise de conscience sur le réchauffement climatique, croissance des inégalités sociales… Ces bouleversements imposent de nouvelles règles pour le développement des activités des entreprises.

Les organisations de la société civile dont le nombre a crû de manière exponentielle dans le monde durant cette période, sont directement concernées par ces enjeux, qui souvent constituent le cœur de leur action. Par l’attention qu’une partie d’entre elles portent aux pratiques des entreprises, elles exercent une pression sur le monde économique qui n’a jamais été aussi forte. Par leur connaissance des territoires et des populations, par les approches innovantes qu’elles développent, elles sont aussi une source de solutions à certains enjeux de développement durable.

Le temps de l’action

Aujourd’hui, la relation des entreprises aux communautés et aux territoires, mais aussi les enjeux sociaux et environnementaux mentionnés précédemment, sont prioritaires dans l’agenda décisionnel.

La relation aux ONG prend donc un tour nouveau. Pour mieux travailler leur intégration sociétale (que ce soit dans les pays du Sud ou les pays occidentaux), renforcer leur acceptabilité et leur licence to operate, innover et mieux gérer leurs risques, les entreprises doivent intégrer la relation aux ONG dans leurs processus de décision, sous peine d’en subir les conséquences économiques directes et indirectes.

Cela suppose une capacité de remise en cause, d’adaptation et d’ouverture sur de nouveaux modes relationnels, de management et de prise de décision afin de mieux appréhender leurs relations avec la société civile. Pour moins les subir, les entreprises doivent être proactives et non plus réactives et se placer dans une véritable logique de création de valeur.